Cheap Thrills: XPN’s Free At Noon

Ever since I first saw Kurt Cobain nonchalantly smash his jet black electric guitar on stage, I knew I wanted to be in a band. But, ever since I awkwardly picked up the banjo, I realized I must settle for living vicariously through whoever is playing at XPN’s Free At Noon every Friday.

XPNFree At Noon Dr.DogXPN is the only radio station in the Philadelphia area that plays a variety of artists from all genres, with playlists that do not include a minimum of five Katy Perry songs per hour. I’ve discovered some of my favorite bands thanks to the selective ears of dj’s like David Dye and Helen Leicht. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Dr.Dog and Wilco, to name a few. As if their great taste in music wasn’t enough, the radio station also holds free concerts every Friday at noon at the World Cafe (3025 Walnut Street, Philadelphia). They hosted the likes of Real Estate, Chairlift, Cults and Adele – ALL FOR FREE. The only catch is that you have to hit up the website early enough in the week and reserve your free ticket before they run out.  I was completely stoked when I saw that local Philly band, Dr.Dog, was playing last week and snatched up tickets immediately.

World Cafe Live PhiladelphiaFree at Noon sets typically last for half an hour, but those darlings from Dr.Dog always play well into the afternoon. If you can manage to skip class or extend your lunch break on Fridays, I highly suggest you hit up this awesome freebie.

To see who’s performing this week, check out xpn.org.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cheap Thrills: XPN’s Free At Noon

  1. That is so incredibly awesome! I love live music, even better when the band has that unique sound that you rarely find. What a free treat and its every week!! Very jealous. Dr. Dog is coming here (to Pittsburgh) this March…I definitely have to buy my tickets now!!

    And I bet your banjo skills are fantastic!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

